Francool Technology (Shenzhen) Co., Ltd.

HomeIndustry > Ceramic machining
Ceramic machining

Ceramic cutting fluid is a non-metallic materials for cutting, grinding, grinding, drilling and other processing of a product. Dedicated to ceramic materials, zirconia, precious stones, jade glass and other non-metallic materials processing. MB-135 as a water-soluble fully synthetic cutting in non-metallic materials, processing excellence, at an affordable price, excellent performance.

How to choose cutting fluid

Select metal cutting fluid, first of all, according to the cutting process conditions and requirements, the initial judgments selected purely oily metal cutting fluid or water-soluble metal cutting fluid. Usually, we can choose according to the recommendation from the machine tool supplier. Secondly, we can choose according to the conventional experience. For example, when using HSS for low speed cutting, purely oily metal cutting fluid is usually used. When using carbide cutting tools for high speed cutting, Usually can be used water-soluble metal cutting fluid; difficult to access for the cutting fluid or cutting fluid is not easy to reach the cutting zone using purely oily metal cutting fluid (such as tapping, bore broaching, etc.), other cases can usually use water-soluble metal cutting fluid Wait. In short, according to the specific cutting conditions and requirements, according to the different characteristics of purely oily metal cutting fluid and water-soluble metal cutting fluid, taking into account the different actual situation of each factory, such as workshop ventilation, waste disposal capacity and before and after the procedure The use of cutting fluid, etc., to select the specific type of cutting fluid.

Wear and lubrication of ceramic cutting tools

1. Ceramic cutting tools with high hardness, wear resistance and high temperature mechanical properties, good chemical stability, easy to bond with the metal and so on, can be widely used in difficult-to-machine materials cutting, ultra-high-speed cutting, high-speed dry cutting and hard cutting Wait. The best cutting speed ceramic tool 3 to 10 times higher than carbide cutting tools, can greatly improve the productivity of machining. In the last three decades, various carbide, nitride, boride, oxide, whisker or minority metal additive technologies have been developed due to the effective control of the raw material purity and grain size in the ceramic tool manufacturing process, And the use of a variety of toughening and reinforcement mechanisms, so that the strength of ceramic knives, toughness, impact resistance and so have greatly increased. But ceramic cutting tools are not everything. Ceramic cutting tools in the cutting process to withstand high temperature, high pressure, will inevitably be subject to varying degrees of wear or damage. Existing research shows that each ceramic tool has its own specific processing range. Different ceramic tools (or ceramic tools of the same kind) have different wear patterns and tool life when processing different workpiece materials. Therefore, there exists The best match between ceramic tools and cutting objects. There are some reports about this research at home and abroad. However, due to the different experimental conditions and research methods, different researchers' experimental results and research conclusions are different.

In this paper, based on the existing research of the author, referring to the domestic and international related literature reports, this paper gives a comprehensive review of the wear and lubrication of ceramic cutting tools and the best match between the ceramic cutting tools and the processing objects, Of the development and development, the actual processing of ceramic cutting tool selection and wear control play a guiding and reference role.

2. Ceramic cutting tool wear mechanism

In the cutting process of ceramic cutting tools, there are always two friction pairs, namely the rake face and the friction between the vice and the flank and the friction between the workpiece. Among them, the former affect the tool rake face wear, the latter affect the tool flank wear and the machined surface quality, before and after the flank wear and tear are affecting the tool life. Ceramic cutting tools are mainly used in high-speed cutting applications. The cutting temperature can be up to 800 ~ 1000 ℃ (even higher), and the cutting pressure is also great. Therefore, the wear of ceramic tool is a combined result of mechanical wear and chemical wear. The wear mechanism mainly includes abrasive wear, bond wear, chemical reaction, diffusion wear, oxidation wear and the like. Existing research shows that the wear and tear of ceramic cutting tools are closely related to cutting conditions. Different ceramic tool materials Different workpiece materials under different cutting conditions, the dominant wear mechanism may be different. Such as low-speed cutting, due to the cutting temperature is low, the wear mechanism is often shown as abrasive wear; in high-speed cutting, then the high temperature caused by adhesive wear, chemical reaction, oxidation wear and diffusion wear mainly.

The author's research shows that: Al2O3-based ceramic tool in the continuous cutting steel, the wear mechanism is mainly associated with micro-chipping edge abrasive wear and bond wear, while cutting the main abrasive wear of iron. Wayne and Brandt et al. (1996) studied the processing of Inconel 718 with Al2O3 / SiCw ceramic tools and concluded that abrasive wear and bond wear are the main wear mechanisms of ceramic tools at low cutting speeds, whereas bonding at high cutting speeds Wear, chemical reactions and diffusion wear are the main wear mechanisms for ceramic tools. As Inconel 718 material high temperature strength, plastic deformation, severe processing hardening, cutting force and cutting temperature are high. When the cutting temperature is less than 900 ℃, the tool rake surface mainly to bond wear; when the temperature reaches 1200 ℃, Ni began to spread to the tool center. Due to the diffusion of Ni, on the one hand, the hardness of the tool material surface is reduced and the performance is reduced; on the other hand, the affinity between the tool and the workpiece is increased, and the bond wear is increased. Therefore, the cutting fluid (chlorinated paraffin cutting fluid better) must be used when machining Inconel 718 with Al2O3 / SiCw ceramic tools.

  Casto, who studied the use of Al2O3 / ZrO2 ceramic tool machining AISI 1040 material concluded: tool wear mechanism is mainly manifested as bonding wear and abrasive wear, and Si3N4 ceramic tool processing AISI 1040 steel, the tool surface is a serious chemical reaction. When AISI 4337 steel is machined with Al2O3 / ZrO2 and Al2O3 / TiCN ceramic inserts, the rake and flank wear mechanisms are different. Chemical reaction and plastic deformation are the main reasons for the rake surface wear. The flaw wear mechanism of the flank is that the ceramic particles break, resulting in the detachment of the ceramic particles. Brandt found that the plastic deformation of the surface of Al2O3-based ceramic tool cutting, and that this is because Al2O3 and FeO (steel surface oxidation products) or MgO (ceramic additives) formed a spinel structure, or Al2O3 and SiO2, CaO The role of the formation of a low melting point, low hardness compounds. The author's research shows that: Al2O3 / TiB2 ceramic cutting tool in the processing of high strength steel and hardened steel has good wear resistance, with the increase of TiB2 content, tool wear resistance increased.

For whisker toughening ceramic tools, the whisker toughening ceramic tool wear resistance due to the orientation of whiskers in the vertical hot pressing plane during hot pressing, resulting in different distribution of whiskers on different surfaces. Orientation, θ = 0 ° surface wear the worst performance, and θ = 90 ° surface wear the best performance. When the tool is mainly worn after the wear, the surface of θ = 90 ° should be selected as the flank of the tool. When the tool is mainly worn by the flank, the surface of θ = 90 ° should be selected as the rake surface of the tool. When the tool front and back flaws exist at the same time larger wear, you should select the θ = 45 ° surface as the tool before (after) the knife face, to improve the wear resistance of the tool.

Si3N4-based ceramics have been used as tool materials since the late 1970s and are now widely used in the machining of cast iron and nickel-based alloys. Si3N4-based ceramic cutting tools in the high-speed cutting abrasive wear occurs mainly in the high-speed cutting of carbon steel mainly chemical wear and tear. Chemical wear itself, the proportion of the total wear of ceramic tools is generally not large, but the chemical can greatly aggravate the degree of mechanical wear and tear, such as chemical dissolution and diffusion can cause the ceramic surface strength weakened, exacerbating the tool and the workpiece Bonding, resulting in severe bond wear and micro-fracture wear. When cutting AISI 1045 steel with Si3N4 ceramic tool, the wear rate is two orders of magnitude higher than that of gray cast iron. The interdiffusion of Fe, Si and other elements between workpiece and tool when cutting cast iron is much smaller than that of cutting steel. Cutting steel, Si3N4 ceramic tool wear mainly with the chemical effects between the tool and the workpiece, due to the chemical dissolution of Si3N4 particles and is constantly being removed from the glass phase, Si3N4 ceramic tool showed a high rate of wear. Si3N4 ceramic cutting tool when the high wear rate of steel is mainly due to the following two factors: ① Si3N4 oxidation in the tool surface layer of SiO2 is constantly being worn off; ② SiO2 and the workpiece surface FeO low melting point eutectic mixture. The chemical reaction between Sialon ceramic tool and iron-based alloy has been studied. The results show that the β'-Sialon particles react with the iron-based alloy at high temperature, and silicon and nitrogen dissolve and diffuse in the iron-based alloy. Alloying elements in steel have some influence on the reactivity between Sialon and steel. Elements such as nickel, silicon, carbon and phosphorus can reduce the reactivity, while elements such as chromium, molybdenum, titanium and vanadium increase the reactivity.

Although ceramic tool wear and cutting conditions are closely related, but the main factors that determine the wear characteristics of ceramic tool is still the ceramic material composition and microstructure. Ceramic tool wear is the basic phenomenon of material fracture and transfer, so the crack formation and expansion will have a significant impact on wear. Ceramic tool materials are mostly multiphase ceramics, there are glassy phase, stomata and impurities in the grain boundaries, and there are differences in thermal expansion mismatch and elastic modulus between the phases. The existence of the grain boundary pores will lead to stress concentration. The pores will induce the grain boundary cracks as the crack source. And the pores are mainly formed on the grain boundary. The crack propagates to the pores and connects with the pores, accelerating the crack growth. Rice et al.'s research shows that the increase of porosity leads to a great decrease of the wear resistance of ceramic tool. Excessive residual stress caused by mismatch between elastic modulus and thermal expansion can cause the material to crack without external load. As the polycrystalline ceramic additives added in the sintering process mainly in the form of glass phase exists in the grain boundary, high-speed cutting under high temperature conditions, the glass phase viscosity decreases and plastic flow, resulting in grain boundary slip, and in the crystal Boundary at the junction of stress concentration phenomenon. If the stress concentration makes the adjacent crystal completely plastic deformation, it will make the stress relaxation, if not with the adjacent grain boundary deformation adaptation, the stress concentration will cause grain boundaries crack. Crack nucleation, with the increasing degree of grain boundary slip will cause cracks. A large number of dislocations in the ceramic tool material crystals provide another way for nucleation of cracks. As the wear process progresses, the dislocations continue to multiply and more microcracks are formed at the grain boundaries due to dislocations , These cracks will be connected to form a continuous crack, resulting in reduced wear resistance of ceramic tools.

3. Ceramic cutting tool cutting lubrication

The ceramic cutting tool for the current need for lubrication is not uniform view. Some scholars believe that ceramic cutting tools with high hardness, high melting point, high temperature and other characteristics, and thermal shock resistance is poor, very sensitive to thermal stress, improper cooling effect will cause the tool to generate thermal cracks and damage, so the ceramic tool Cutting without cooling and lubrication to meet the requirements. However, there are also many researchers believe that the ceramic cutting tools in the processing of some difficult materials (such as the use of ceramic whiskers to toughen the nickel-based superalloy), you must make full use of cutting fluid (chlorinated paraffin cutting fluid better ). Proper cooling and lubrication can be useful for reducing wear on ceramic tools and extending their useful life. Tonshoff et al. Studied the effect of lubricants on the hardening of Al2O3 / TiC ceramic tool turning hardened steel, the cutting tests were carried out under dry cutting and lubrication with different lubricants respectively. The results show that the wear of tool, the quality of machined surface and the formation of chips are affected by the lubricant. Compared with dry cutting, the use of lubricants tool life extension, the workpiece surface quality has been significantly improved. This is mainly because the extreme pressure additives in the lubricant under the cutting conditions and the workpiece surface friction chemical reaction formed a chemical adsorption film. Through the component analysis of the workpiece surface under lubrication and cutting conditions, it was found that the extreme pressure lubrication film containing FeS and FePO4 and other components, it is this extreme pressure lubrication film to reduce cutting friction, inhibit the occurrence of bonding, and thus reduce Small tool wear.
Cheryl on the Si3N4 / TiC ceramic materials at 900 ℃ high temperature friction and wear tests showed that: Si3N4 and TiC oxidation occurs at high temperatures, the friction surface containing Si and Ti oxide protective film can significantly reduce the friction coefficient, and there Will help improve the wear resistance of materials. Cutting tests on nickel-base alloys with Si3N4-based and Al2O3-based ceramic tools found that the main cause of tool failure under dry-cutting conditions was severe rake wear and chip-to-tool bonding while the use of cutting lubricants improved tooling The cutting performance, improve the cutting efficiency and the surface quality of the workpiece. Some people have a variety of lubricants, additives on the ceramic - metal friction pair lubrication has been studied and found that the oil-based cutting fluid is more effective than water-based cutting fluid. When lubricated with ZDDP lubricants, the wear rate of Si3N4 ceramic tool when cutting 45 steel is reduced by two orders of magnitude compared with that of dry cutting. The wear rate of stainless steel is lower than that of dry cutting Can be reduced by an order of magnitude. Surface analysis found that the wear surface of Si3N4 and the workpiece ZnO, FeS, FePO4 friction chemical reaction products. The author of the Al2O3 / TiB2 ceramic cutter dry cutting hardened steel was studied, the results show that: The high-speed ceramic cutting tool with self-lubricating function. When the cutting speed is low, the cutting temperature is low, the wear mechanism of the tool is mainly abrasive wear and bond wear; when the cutting speed is high, the cutting surface of the average cutting temperature is higher, the actual instantaneous maximum temperature is greater than the average temperature, The XRD pattern of the tool wear zone after cutting shows the diffraction peak of TiO2, indicating that oxidation of TiB2 occurs under the effect of cutting high temperature. TiB2 oxide TiO2 can act as a solid lubricant between the chip and the rake face of the tool, thereby reducing the average friction coefficient μ of the cutting force and the rake face, as well as reducing the bond wear of the tool and increasing the cutting tool Wear resistance.

4 ceramic tool and processing object matching

Each ceramic tool has its own specific range of processing, different ceramic tool (or the same type of ceramic tool) in the processing of different workpiece materials, wear patterns and tool life are very different. Therefore, each ceramic tool has its best processing object, that there is the best match between the ceramic tool and the processing object.

Al2O3-based ceramic tool contains aluminum, Al2O3-based ceramic tool in the processing of aluminum and aluminum alloy greater affinity, the tool will have a greater bond wear and diffusion wear. Al2O3 / TiC and Al2O3 (/ W, Ti) C and other ceramic tools contain aluminum and titanium, with such ceramic tool processing of titanium and titanium alloys, aluminum and aluminum alloys also have greater affinity, so they are not suitable for processing Aluminum, titanium and their alloys. Pure iron and Al2O3 tool bonding tendency between steel and cast iron, pure Al

富兰克科技(深圳)股份有限公司

首页行业 > 陶瓷加工
陶瓷加工

陶瓷切削液是一款用于非金属材料切削,研磨,磨削,钻孔等加工上的一款产品。专用于陶瓷材料、氧化锆、宝石、玉石玻璃等非金属材料的加工。MB-135作为一款水溶性全合成切削在非金属材料加工效果卓越,以起实惠的价格,卓越的性能。

如何选择切削液 

选取金属切削液,首先要根据切削加工的工艺条件及要求,初步判断选取纯油性金属切削液或水溶性金属切削液。通常我们可以根据机床供应商的推荐来选择;其次,还可以根据常规经验进行选取,如使用高速钢刀具进行低速切削时,通常采用纯油性金属切削液,使用硬质合金刀具进行高速切削时,通常可以采用水溶性金属切削液;对于供液困难或切削液不易达到切削区时采用纯油性金属切削液(如攻丝、内孔拉削等),其他情况下通常可采用水溶性金属切削液等。总之,要根据具体切削加工条件及要求,根据纯油性金属切削液和水溶性金属切削液的不同特点,同时考虑各个工厂的不同实际情况,如车间的通风条件、废液处理能力及前后道工序的切削液使用情况等,来选取具体的切削液类型。

陶瓷刀具切削加工时的磨损与润滑

1.陶瓷刀具具有硬度高、耐磨性能及高温力学性能优良、化学稳定性好、不易与金属发生粘结等特点,可广泛应用于难加工材料切削、超高速切削、高速干切削和硬切削等。陶瓷刀具的最佳切削速度比硬质合金刀具高3~10倍,可大幅度提高切削加工生产率。近三十年来,由于在陶瓷刀具制造工艺中实现了对原料纯度和晶粒尺寸的有效控制,开发了各种碳化物、氮化物、硼化物、氧化物、晶须或少量金属的添加技术,以及采用多种增韧补强机制等,使陶瓷刀具的强度、韧性、抗冲击性能等都有了较大提高。但陶瓷刀具并不是万能的。陶瓷刀具在切削加工过程中要承受高温、高压作用,不可避免地要受到不同程度的磨损或破损。已有的研究表明,每一种陶瓷刀具都有其特定的加工范围,不同的陶瓷刀具(或同种陶瓷刀具)在加工不同工件材料时其磨损形态和刀具寿命会有很大不同,因此存在陶瓷刀具与切削对象的最佳匹配问题。对于这方面的研究国内外已有一些文献报道,但因实验条件和研究方法各异,不同研究者的实验结果和研究结论也存在差异。   

本文在作者已有的研究基础上,参考国内外的相关文献报道,对陶瓷刀具切削加工时的磨损、润滑以及陶瓷刀具与加工对象的最佳匹配问题进行了综合评述,以期对新型陶瓷刀具材料的研制与开发、实际加工中陶瓷刀具的选用与磨损控制等起到一定的指导和参考作用。   

2.陶瓷刀具切削加工时的磨损机理   

在陶瓷刀具切削加工过程中,始终存在两个摩擦副,即前刀面与切屑间的摩擦副和后刀面与工件间的摩擦副。其中,前者影响刀具前刀面的磨损,后者影响刀具后刀面的磨损和已加工表面质量,前、后刀面的磨损均影响刀具寿命。陶瓷刀具主要用于高速切削场合,切削温度常可高达800~1000℃(甚至更高),切削压力也很大。因此,陶瓷刀具的磨损是机械磨损与化学磨损综合作用的结果,其磨损机制主要包括磨料磨损、粘结磨损、化学反应、扩散磨损、氧化磨损等。已有的研究表明,陶瓷刀具的磨损与切削条件密切相关。不同的陶瓷刀具材料在不同切削条件下加工不同的工件材料时,占主导地位的磨损机制可能有所不同。如在低速切削时,由于切削温度较低,其磨损机理往往表现为磨粒磨损;而在高速切削时,则以高温引起的粘着磨损、化学反应、氧化磨损和扩散磨损为主。   

作者的研究表明:Al2O3基陶瓷刀具在连续切削钢件时,其磨损机理主要为伴有微崩刃的磨料磨损和粘结磨损,而在切削铸铁时主要为磨料磨损。Wayne和Brandt等人通过研究用Al2O3/SiCw陶瓷刀具加工Inconel 718材料得出结论:在低速切削条件下,磨料磨损和粘结磨损为陶瓷刀具的主要磨损机制;而在高速切削条件下,粘结磨损、化学反应和扩散磨损为陶瓷刀具的主要磨损机制。由于Inconel 718材料高温强度高,塑性变形大,加工硬化严重,切削力和切削温度均很高。当切削温度小于900℃时,刀具前刀面以粘结磨损为主;当温度达到1200℃时,Ni就开始向刀具中心扩散。由于Ni的扩散,一方面使刀具材料表面硬度下降,性能降低;另一方面使刀具与工件的亲和性增加,粘结磨损增大。因此,用Al2O3/SiCw陶瓷刀具加工Inconel 718时必须使用切削液(含氯化石蜡的切削液效果更好)。  

  Casto等人通过研究用Al2O3/ZrO2陶瓷刀具加工AISI 1040材料得出结论:刀具的磨损机理主要表现为粘结磨损和磨料磨损,而用Si3N4陶瓷刀具加工AISI 1040钢时,刀具表面存在严重的化学反应。用Al2O3/ZrO2和Al2O3/TiCN陶瓷刀具加工AISI 4337钢时,前刀面和后刀面的磨损机理不同。化学反应及塑性变形是前刀面磨损的主要原因,后刀面的磨损机理则是陶瓷颗粒间发生断裂,导致陶瓷颗粒脱落所致。Brandt发现了Al2O3基陶瓷刀具切削时表层的塑性变形现象,并认为这是由于Al2O3与FeO(钢表面氧化产物)或MgO(陶瓷添加剂)反应形成了尖晶石结构,或者是Al2O3与SiO2、CaO作用形成了低熔点、低硬度的化合物。作者的研究表明:Al2O3/TiB2陶瓷刀具在加工高强钢和淬硬钢时具有较好的耐磨性,随着TiB2含量的增加,刀具的耐磨性能增强。   

对于晶须增韧陶瓷刀具,由于晶须在热压过程中定向分布于垂直热压轴平面,造成晶须在不同表面上的分布差异,因此晶须增韧陶瓷刀具的耐磨性能与晶须的取向有关,θ=0°表面的耐磨性能最差,而θ=90°表面的耐磨性能最好。当刀具以后刀面磨损为主时,应选择θ=90°表面作为刀具后刀面;当刀具以前刀面磨损为主时,则应选择θ=90°表面作为刀具前刀面。当刀具前、后刀面同时存在较大磨损时,应选择θ=45°表面作为刀具的前(后)刀面,以提高刀具的抗磨损能力。   

Si3N4基陶瓷自七十年代后期开始作为刀具材料使用,目前已在铸铁和镍基合金的切削加工中得到广泛应用。Si3N4基陶瓷刀具在高速切削铸铁时主要发生磨料磨损,而在高速切削碳钢时主要发生化学磨损。化学磨损本身在陶瓷刀具的总磨损量中所占比例一般并不大,但化学作用可使机械磨损的程度大大加剧,如化学溶解及扩散作用会引起陶瓷表面强度减弱,加剧刀具与工件间的粘结,从而导致严重的粘结磨损和微观断裂磨损。用Si3N4陶瓷刀具切削AISI 1045钢时,其磨损率比切削灰铸铁时高出两个数量级;切削铸铁时工件与刀具之间的Fe、Si等元素的相互扩散作用比切削钢时小得多。切削钢时,Si3N4陶瓷刀具的磨损主要与刀具和工件间的化学作用有关,由于Si3N4颗粒的化学溶解及不断被从玻璃相中拔除,Si3N4陶瓷刀具表现出很高的磨损率。Si3N4陶瓷刀具切削钢时的高磨损率主要归因于以下两种因素:①Si3N4氧化而在刀具表面形成的SiO2层不断被磨去;②SiO2与工件表面的FeO形成低熔点共晶混合物。有人对Sialon陶瓷刀具与铁基合金间的化学作用进行过专门研究,结果表明:在高温下β′-Sialon颗粒与铁基合金发生化学反应,硅和氮在铁基合金中发生溶解和扩散。钢中的合金元素对Sialon与钢之间的反应活性有一定影响,镍、硅、碳、磷等元素可降低反应活性,而铬、钼、钛、钒等元素则会增大反应活性。

虽然陶瓷刀具的磨损与切削条件密切相关,但决定陶瓷刀具磨损特性的主要因素仍是陶瓷材料的组分和微观结构。陶瓷刀具磨损的基本现象是材料的断裂及转移,因此裂纹的形成与扩展将对磨损产生重要影响。陶瓷刀具材料多为复相陶瓷,在晶界处存在玻璃相、气孔、杂质等,且各相之间存在热胀失配和弹性模量的差别。晶界气孔的存在会导致应力集中,气孔作为裂纹源将诱导晶界裂纹,并且由于气孔主要在晶界上产生,裂纹扩展至气孔时与气孔连接,从而加速了裂纹的扩展。Rice等人的研究表明:气孔率的增加使陶瓷刀具的耐磨性能大大降低,弹性模量与热胀失配所产生的过大残余应力会导致材料在未受外载时就产生开裂。由于多晶陶瓷所加的添加剂在烧结过程中主要以玻璃相形式存在于晶界上,在高速切削产生的高温条件下,玻璃相粘度降低而发生塑性流动,导致晶界滑移,并在晶界交界处产生应力集中现象。如果应力集中使得相邻晶粒完全塑性变形,则会使应力松弛,如果不能与邻近晶界变形相适应,则应力集中将使晶界处产生裂纹。裂纹成核后,随着晶界滑移程度的不断增加,将会引起裂纹产生。陶瓷刀具材料晶体中的大量位错为裂纹成核提供了另一种方式,随着磨损过程的不断进行,位错不断增殖,在晶界处就会形成更多因位错而产生的微裂纹,这些裂纹相接就会形成连续裂纹,从而导致陶瓷刀具耐磨性能下降。 

3.陶瓷刀具切削加工时的润滑   

对于陶瓷刀具在切削加工中是否需要润滑目前看法尚不统一。有些学者认为,陶瓷刀具具有高硬度、高熔点、耐高温等特点,且抗热震性较差,对热应力很敏感,不适当的冷却作用会使刀具产生热裂纹而发生破损,因此陶瓷刀具切削加工时不需冷却和润滑即可满足使用要求。但也有不少研究者认为,陶瓷刀具在加工某些难加工材料时(如用晶须增韧陶瓷刀具加工镍基高温合金),必须充分使用切削液(含氯化石蜡的切削液效果更好)。采用适当的冷却和润滑对减小陶瓷刀具磨损、延长其使用寿命十分有益。   Tonshoff等人研究了Al2O3/TiC陶瓷刀具车削淬硬钢时润滑剂的作用,切削试验分别在干切削和不同润滑剂润滑条件下进行。结果表明:刀具的磨损、已加工表面质量以及切屑的形成均受到润滑剂的影响。与干切削相比,采用润滑剂的刀具寿命延长,工件已加工表面质量显著提高。这主要是因为润滑剂中的极压添加剂在切削条件下与工件表面发生摩擦化学反应而形成了化学吸附膜。通过对润滑切削条件下的工件表面进行成分分析,发现了含FeS和FePO4等成分的极压润滑膜,正是这种极压润滑膜降低了切削摩擦力,抑制了粘结的发生,从而减小了刀具磨损。
Cheryl对Si3N4 / TiC陶瓷材料在900℃高温下的摩擦磨损试验研究表明:Si3N4和TiC在高温下发生氧化,在摩擦表面生成含Si和Ti的氧化物保护膜,可显著降低摩擦系数,并有利于提高材料的耐磨性能。用Si3N4基和Al2O3基陶瓷刀具进行镍基合金的切削试验发现,干切削条件下刀具失效的主要原因是严重的前刀面磨损及切屑在刀具上的粘结,而使用切削润滑剂改善了刀具的切削性能,提高了切削效率和加工件的表面质量。有人曾对多种润滑剂、添加剂对陶瓷—金属摩擦副的润滑作用进行了研究,发现油基切削液比水基切削液更为有效。如使用含二烷基二硫化磷酸锌(ZDDP)的润滑油进行润滑,Si3N4陶瓷刀具切削45钢时的磨损率与干切削相比可减小两个数量级,切削不锈钢时的磨损率比干切削时可减小一个数量级。表面分析发现,Si3N4及工件的磨损表面上有ZnO、FeS、FePO4等摩擦化学反应产物生成。    作者曾对Al2O3/TiB2陶瓷刀具干切削淬硬钢进行了试验研究,结果表明:该陶瓷刀具高速干切削时具有自润滑功能。当切削速度较低时,切削温度也较低,刀具的磨损机制主要表现为磨料磨损与粘结磨损;当切削速度很高时,刀具表面平均切削温度较高,实际瞬时最高温度大于平均温度,切削后刀具磨损区的XRD谱图中出现了TiO2衍射峰,这表明TiB2在切削高温的作用下发生了氧化。TiB2的氧化物TiO2能在切屑与刀具前刀面之间起到固体润滑剂的作用,进而可减小切削力和前刀面的平均摩擦系数μ,并能减轻刀具的粘结磨损,提高刀具的耐磨性能。  

4.陶瓷刀具与加工对象的匹配   

每一种陶瓷刀具都有其特定的加工范围,不同的陶瓷刀具(或同种陶瓷刀具)在加工不同工件材料时其磨损形态和刀具寿命有很大差别。因此,每一种陶瓷刀具都有其最佳加工对象,即存在陶瓷刀具与加工对象的最佳匹配问题。   

Al2O3基陶瓷刀具中含有铝元素,因此Al2O3基陶瓷刀具在加工铝及铝合金时存在较大亲和力,刀具会产生较大的粘结磨损和扩散磨损。Al2O3/TiC和Al2O3(/W,Ti)C等陶瓷刀具中含有铝及钛元素,用此类陶瓷刀具加工钛及钛合金、铝及铝合金时也存在较大亲和力,因此它们都不适合加工铝、钛及其合金。纯铁与Al2O3刀具之间的粘结倾向比钢和铸铁更大,纯Al2O3陶瓷刀具在切削纯铁时约在500℃就开始粘结,与其它超硬刀具(如金刚石、立方氮化硼刀具)相比,Al2O3刀具与铁之间的扩散作用最小。   

SiC颗粒或SiC晶须增韧的Al2O3刀具在加工镍基合金时表现出优良的切削性能,但在加工钢时,因Fe容易与SiC发生反应而使刀具材料急剧磨损。用含有SiC的陶瓷刀具加工淬硬钢时,在切削高温作用下,SiC很容易与工件中的Fe产生化学反应,反应式为  

4Fe+SiC→FeSi+Fe3C    

切削速度越高,切削温度也随之升高,会进一步加剧Fe与SiC的反应速度。SiC晶须与Fe反应后使晶须原有的硬度和耐磨性能降低,晶须与基体的结合强度削弱,因而晶须在磨粒作用下容易脱落,从而减弱晶须的增韧作用。此外,陶瓷刀具在高温下还会产生溶解磨损,表1为陶瓷刀具材料各组分与Fe在1323℃温度时的溶解度。由表可见,Al2O3和ZrO2在Fe中的溶解度最小,溶解度由大到小的顺序为:SiC→TiN→TiC→Al2O3→ZrO2。在高温下SiC在Fe中的溶解度比TiC和TiN的溶解度高两个数量级以上。由于Fe与SiC晶须的化学反应及相互溶解,使刀具材料中Fe元素含量增加,进一步增大了刀具与工件的粘着倾向,因此对刀具的耐磨性能不利。因此,含有SiC颗粒或SiC晶须的陶瓷刀具不适合加工钢件。   

表1陶瓷刀具材料组分1323℃时在Fe中的溶解度材料组分-溶解度 (mol%)ZrO2-3.6×10-8 Al2O3-5.6×10-7 TiC-1.0×10-3 TiN-1.9×10-3 SiC-6.4×10-1   

Al2O3/ZrO2陶瓷刀具中的材料组分Al2O3和ZrO2在高温下的化学稳定性好,且与Fe的溶解度很小,不易向工件材料中扩散及溶解,因此Al2O3/ZrO2具有较好耐磨性能。由于Al2O3/ZrO2陶瓷刀具在高温(1170℃以上)下ZrO2的增韧效果会显著减小,所以Al2O3/ZrO2陶瓷刀具不适合温度较高的高速或超高速切削,只适合在较低切削速度范围内进行切削加工,Si3N4基陶瓷刀具适于高速切削铸铁,加工镍基合金也能取得满意结果,但切削奥氏体不锈钢时则磨损严重。由于Si3N4和Fe之间存在较大亲和力以及Si和Fe之间的相互扩散,高速切削产生的高温会大大加剧Si3N4与这类工件间的化学作用及元素扩散,加剧Si3N4刀具的磨损,所以Si3N4刀具也不适合高速切削纯铁和碳钢等材料。总的来说,Al2O3基陶瓷刀具具有良好的耐磨损性能及耐高温性能(均高于Si3N4基陶瓷刀具),且其高温化学稳定性很好,不易与铁元素发生相互扩散或化学反应,因而Al2O3基陶瓷刀具的应用范围最广,适于高速切削钢、铸铁及其合金;Si3N4基陶瓷刀具的断裂韧性和抗热裂性高于Al2O3基陶瓷刀具,适于断续加工铸铁及铸铁合金;ZrO2增韧陶瓷刀具室温韧性较高,适于断续切削,但不适合温度较高的高速或超高速切削;添加SiC的陶瓷刀具最适合加工镍基高温合金、纯镍和高镍合金等,但不适于加工钢和铸铁。  

5.结语   

综上所述,不同种类的陶瓷刀具(或同种类刀具)加工不同工件时,其磨损形态不同。冷却与润滑对陶瓷刀具的磨损和刀具寿命会产生很大影响,采用适当的冷却和润滑对减小陶瓷刀具磨损、延长使用寿命十分有益。   

在实际应用中,每一种陶瓷刀具都有其特定的加工范围,陶瓷刀具与其加工对象之间存在最佳匹配问题,应根据所加工的工件材料选择合适的刀具材料,并根据刀具材料中是否含有高温下易与工件材料发生扩散及化学作用的组分来确定最佳切削用量。